My “run-in” with Dominique Wilkins (in 2000)

Posted: 2012/06/24 in NBA, Random Silly Stuff, Society/Culture, Your Blogger

Yet another reason to dislike Dominique Wilkins .  lol.   I was going through Youtube crap and found this  video with him in it (4:35 minutes in). It Made me think of the time I met Mr. Wilkins…

When I was a 19 year old  package pick-up dude for Sears, I brought something out for Wilkins  one saturday afternoon.  As you can tell by the Articles in this blog, I am a HUGE basketball fan (and 5’5″) . It was an insanely busy day at Sears (another “Super Saturday”…sales days which I grew to loathe ) and package pick-up was a little backed-up with customers waiting for their stuff. After pulling tickets and pulling down HUGE televisions and lawn mowers etc. , I heard the people in the back office (next to package pick-up) joking about “Dominique Wilkins buying the place (Sears) and making changes”. I chimed in with “doesn’t he play in Europe now” and some other comments about him never winning a title or something (never knowing why they even brought him up).  Then I walked outside with the microwave that I pulled off of the shelves, and read “Wilkins!” off of a pick-up slip.  The room full of people started to chuckle. Confused, I looked around and then ‘Nique stepped from behind a vending machine that he was crouched next to. I was extremely surprised to see all 6’8″ of “the human highlight” film while I was bringing a microwave to him while I was at work. Needless to say I was like a little kid again.

That ended pretty quickly though.

When I finally go over being in awe, I managed to  say something lame like “I liked [his] game in the NBA” or something. Instead of some standard fan meet-and-greet pleasantries , he said “Yeah, my ride is over there”  and pointed to his HUGE hummer vehicle. I was a little embarrassed that I had complimented him. Then he gave a half-assed “thank you” and drove away in his gas-guzzler !

It was the most ANNOYING expirence that I ever had meeting an NBA player and he made “the list”. lol. That imaginary list that we all have (admit it!) of assholes that we would love to get to verbally blast one day.

Over the years I have tried to rationalize it. Maybe he was busy and running late? Maybe he was tired of being “on” all day and wanted to get home? Who knows what his deal was that day? I don’t really care as much about Wilkins’ demeanor as this blog probably makes it seem (and I love my height too 🙂 ). It just had me thinking about NBA players and celebrities in general.

I’ve met a few NBA players  living/working  in Orlando…the coolest of which were Matt Gierger, John Amaechi and Nick Anderson. Anderson gave toys to underprivileged kids at my community center when I was a kid…without his Magic teammates or the organization/cameras with him (I got a remote-control car…if I remember correctly).

NBA players (or celebrities in general) please remember to be  good to the fans…especially “the kids”. That’s why I always respected Michael’s approach to the game and to his fans. Realizing his importance to fans and being so nice to people (knowing that it may be the ONE time that they get to see him) showed how PROFESSIONAL he was. Good or Bad the experiences we have with these guys  makes an impression (We won’t even get into P.J. Brown at Universal Studios (when I worked there…yet 🙂 ). That meeting was probably a little worse…those two made me not want to meet celebrities I liked).

In the case of Dominique Wilkins, a pretty horrible impression was created…but a pretty funny story came out of it too!

Thanks Dominique!                            

Comments
  1. now that I think about it, that door separating the back area from the customer was pretty thin! lol…I doubt he heard me joking about what the people in the office said though…all the people talking outside…nah…uh-oh…lol.

Leave a Reply

